Contact Us

Breakups Just Got Easier on Social Media

Justin Sullivan, Getty Images

So you fall in love, follow each other on social media, like all of each other’s posts, and then break up.


But now you can limit the posts your ex sees about you, on at least one social media site.

Facebook says it’s going to make it easy to take a break from your ex.  Because really, who wants to see the new happy pictures after that person moves on?  It’s one thing if you’re still friends, but if there is some bad blood and drama and pain involved, then it’s way better to make up stories in our minds about what that person’s life is like post-us.  We don’t need to know the happy details.

So coming soon, when you change your relationship status, Facebook will give you the option of automatically untagging or limiting the visibility of posts where you’re pictured with your ex.  How slick will that be to remove all the tags with one click?  If only it worked on some of our other friends.

With the new features you’ll also be able to limit the updates your ex can see about you, as you move on and find that dreamy new person. Because really, doesn’t it feel kinda weird posting a romantic dinner pic with your new squeeze, knowing your ex will see it?  We’re free and clear, but there’s still something that seems kinda cringey about it.

Facebook is testing the features now on a mobile app, now with a test group of ex’s. After getting their feedback on how well it works, they’ll roll it out to the masses. In the meantime we’ll all believe those romantic pics you’re tagged in with your sig other will lead to a lifetime of bliss.

Best of Q1077

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Q107 VIP quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Q107 VIP contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.