On paper, Sons of Apollo look pretty impressive. You see the names and you expect a quality experience though not fully sure of what to expect. But it's another thing to experience it all coming together and taking it to the next level and that's what you get with the band's new video for "Coming Home."

The clip essentially takes you into a performance space where singer Jeff Scott Soto, guitarist Ron "Bumblefoot" Thal," keyboardist Derek Sherinian, drummer Mike Portnoy and bassist Billy Sheehan perform in the round facing each other and letting their natural chemistry guide the song. There are moments of low end mastery from Sheehan, Bumblefoot displays his dexterity on the fretboard and Portnoy is having such a blast he tosses his drum sticks at the end of the performance.

"’Coming Home’ immediately felt like the Sons of Apollo 'grand entrance' as soon as we wrote the song,” says Portnoy. “Almost like a fighter entering the ring. I knew this had to be the first video and first time people see us playing together. The video was shot at Ocean Studios in Burbank, where we wrote and recorded the album. So you're essentially seeing the exact place and environment that Sons of Apollo was born."

He continues, "I assume most people's expectations of the band from its lineup is for SOA to be a self-indulgent 'wank-fest' (and granted, there are three 10-minute Prog epics on the album!), but ‘Coming Home’ is an example that we are just as much a rock band cut from the cloth of classic bands like Van Halen as well." Watch the video for the song above.

The track, which is now available via all digital outlets, is featured on Sons of Apollo's debut disc, Psychotic Symphony, which is due Oct. 20 via InsideOutMusic / Sony. The group previous previewed the track "Signs of the Time" off the album. You can pre-order the set here.

As the album is nearing, Sons of Apollo have revealed a few more details for the disc. You can check out the track listing for the album as well as the artwork posted below.

Sons of Apollo, Psychotic Symphony Artwork

InsideOutMusic / Sony
InsideOutMusic / Sony

Sons of Apollo, Psychotic Symphony Track Listing:

1. God of the Sun
2. Coming Home
3. Signs of the Time
4. Labyrinth
5. Alive
6. Lost in Oblivion
7. Figaro’s Whore
8. Divine Addiction
9. Opus Maximus

Most Anticipated Upcoming Hard Rock + Metal Albums of 2017

Loudwire Podcast #8 - Mike Portnoy

Loudwire Music Awards Tickets Available Now!

Loudwire Music Awards Poster

More From Classic Rock Q107